Popeye – CGI Animation Test (Feature Film)

(http://insidemovies.ew.com/2014/09/18/popeye-test-footage-genndy-tartakovsky/)

Last week a sneak peek at the new feature film Popeye, in development by Sony Pictures Animation; director Genndy Tartakovsky plans to develop Popeye as a newly revived CGI animated feature film in what he hopes will bring the beloved character to a new younger generation of cinema audience.

In this sneak peek we don’t get an official look at a scene from the movie, instead we are given a glimpse of how Tartakovsky plans to develop the movie’s design and how the animation will perform on screen.

I really enjoyed watching this animated short for what I hope will be how the final version will look in the years to come. However, there was some elements I was not keen with. When I first saw a still shot from a scene of this short, (it was of Popeye’s face) when I first looked at this image I wasn’t “ahh! Yes! A CGI Popeye movie…” Rather what I was thinking was “Oh boy, what have they done.” So out of curiosity I watch the clip and was immediately blown away by the animation. It really reminded me of the old classic Popeye 2D animated cartoon of back in the day.

Olive’s character, her facial expression are what I would have expected from this character. Big, expressive, overly dramatic and it was nice to see that the slapstick humour, was transitioned nicely into the CGI.

As I re-watched the clip other elements about the character of Popeye began to catch my eye, and I started questioning the design of Popeye: 1. No pipe. 2. No anchor tattos. and 3. (the most ridicules of all ) Rapper/hip-hop clothes.

When you look at the original Popeye he has baggy jeans and wears a black shirt, but here in CGI it kind of looks a bit ridiculous, in that it’s trying to modernize the character a little too much. It takes apart some materials of his clothes that would be vital to identify him as a sailor. It Just makes me feel like the character doesn’t really fit with in the stage set up. The only thing that I can identify him as a sailor is his hat.

But hey, it is still early days and this short is not meant to be a finalized scene for the feature film only a clip to show how it will be when it hits theatres in 2016. Overall, I still thoroughly enjoy it mood and humour. So I am excited for the film and can’t wait to see it in the future.

(Classic Popeye – above)

Leave a Reply

