Image and Data Visualisation: Death Penalty Final Designs

I have decided to redo my original idea and to create a design that is best suited for a poster; advertising death penalty to inform the audience. I felt really black with this topic so my designs became black and dreary, as I think the topic seems to bring these emotions out of me.

The first thing I decided to do was to find a font, a particular style that would impact and shock the audience, once you look at it; I wanted it to not over dominate the poster. So, by scaling the font size reasonably I think this will reduce its over dominance on the poster, but, the design of the font will still convey its impact.

Font Styles

I began with this image above, taking the font design from Dafont and my Photoshop font column; I rearranged and recreated the style of the font to suit what I was wanting to capture in my design. What I would do is, I would begin by selecting each of these fonts and play around with the colour, scale and placement of the lettering. Here are a few of the fonts I selected from this list above, I have also given the name of the original font.

Font Styles2

Font Styles3

Font Styles4

 

My inspiration for these fonts was from infographics that I have researched. Below are a few examples of some of the infographs I have looked at.

I have also been influenced by the poster designs of Saul Bass, an American graphic designer and award-winning filmmaker. During his 40-year career Bass worked for some of Hollywood’s most prominent filmmakers, including Alfred HitchcockOtto PremingerBilly WilderStanley Kubrick and Martin Scorsese. Among his most famous title sequences are the animated paper cut-out of a heroin addict’s arm for Preminger’s The Man with the Golden Arm, the credits racing up and down what eventually becomes a high-angle shot of a skyscraper in Hitchcock’s North by Northwest, and the disjointed text that races together and apart in Psycho.

Below are some of the earlier designs I have created for the infographic. I tried various different arrangements for the font and the images; I did not want things to overlap one another in a way that would make my design look messy, and not understandable.

Death Penalty DO-OVER Death Penalty DO-OVER2 Death Penalty Poster 3 Death Penalty poster Death Penalty Poster2

 

Finally, these two images below are my final designs for this redo of my project. What I like about these is the title font, how everything plays well together and it is easy to understand; you don’t even need to read the information to understand that this poster informs about death.

Final Death Penalty Design Final Death Penalty Design2

Leave a Reply

