Image and Data Visualisation: Death Penalty

Project 03 Data Visualisation

For this final project we are to convert a set of statistics from the link below into something that can be easily understood by as wide an audience as possible.

Global Death Penalty Statistics

A few contemporary visualisations worth checking out are:

References:

_63125925_data data visualisation hai-data-visualization infographic1

 

I took many elements from these designs as my influence for my final design, through the layout. I was very much impacted with how everything was organised on these charts; that they became the basis for my inspiration and ideas. For my designs I wanted to achieve these to the best of my ability.

 

My Graph Charts

In the earliest stages of this project I was confused as to what information on the stats from the webpage we were to put into a graph. I soon found out that it was only the totals section. I used Microsoft Excel for these charts.

 

Death Penalty Chart deathpenalty chart deathpenaltybarchart Deathpenaltychart Deathpenaltylinechart

 

Final charts

chart chart2

Going back over my charts these were the two that I used for the final design of my infograph. I traced over them and gave them a different colour code.

Early Design Attempts

death penalty chart design2 death penalty chart design3 death penalty chart design4

 

These were my early attempts; I decided to go with my final version because I feel that it give the most information and had a better design quality/layout that I liked.

My Final Design

death penalty chart design

 

I really liked this final design, as it could progress into a web page; my goal for this project was to try and get an infograph that could be developed as a webpage.

Leave a Reply

