University of Ulster Arts Festival

Brian McMahon

Very interesting talk tonight. I have learned how it is important to understand your business. Ask the right questions. Listen to the right answers.
He even gave a good list of twelve rules of quality design research.
Really good talk, looking forward to Sandra Scott’s tomorrow night.

http://segment-international.com/Leadership.html

Sandra Scott

Excellent talk from Sandra Scott. I always get excited hearing from others their own experiences of their work/job.
I have learned so much – I did not know Image Movers Digital has closed… Shocker! I really like their A Christmas Carol, it is one of those films that has sparked my interest in Mocap. I have never heard of Atomic Fiction: and from their show reel they look awesome. I think I would enjoy animating an explosion, someday. Explosions = Awesome! Also something that has been drilling in my mind is: STORY! STORY! STORY! A very important topic and one that is taken….VERY SERIOUSLY!
One thing I have really like the most about Brian McMahon and Sandra Scott’s talks has been how they present themselves and explain what they do to an audience. Three Cs: (always be) Calm, Cool and Collective.

http://atomicfiction.com/

Collin Williams

Colin Williams’ talk was a very inspiring one; it has given me motivation. I particularly admired the length and depth of their photo references and research. I also found the DriftWood Bay cartoon very charming and delightful; I can see this cartoon being watched by both children and their parents.

http://www.sixteensouth.tv/our_shows/driftwood_bay/driftwood_bay.html

Leave a Reply

