Image and Data Visualisation: Tolkien, Bauer and Le Cain

John Bauer

Errol Le Cain

thief-and-the-cobbler-influence-errol-le-cain-02

Kay Nielsen

J.R.R.Tolkien

John Bauer and Kay Nielsen have been two of my favourite Illustrators for some time. When I decided to illustrate J.R.R Tolkien’s The Hobbit I immediately thought of these two artists’ styles. J.R.R.Tolkien’s own illustrations have a very similar approach to these artists; I believe he once happened upon them and was inspired to illustrate The Hobbit, for his own enjoyment and to help him visualize his imaginative world. I am going to attempt to adapt these styles and study them for this assignment. I feel because The Hobbit is a children’s book, I do not want to have it being “cute” or too “terrifying”; instead I want to instill wonder and joy into the illustration; I want the viewer to gaze at the book, and immediate want to be drawn to it. My favourite book covers have always been in this type of style; it mesmerizes me deeply, that’s why I don’t read a book unless it has a good cover illustration to capture my attention, and spark my imagination. I know you should not judge a book by it’s cover, but I do, and in doing so I sometimes find a good story and other times I don’t. I don’t really mind, sometimes for me, I just want to collect the illustration. Also it has to have a good size that I am comfortable with (a size that fits the type of illustration) – that is important.

Leave a Reply

